Build a 80Hz LP x-over?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Anthony Sa, Apr 15, 2002.

1. Anthony Sa

Anthony Sa Agent

As some of you may have read from my last thread with my speaker troubles, my sub-out does not have a crossover. I can up with a plan to get around this.
    I will build (in the spirit of DIY) a simple LP 80HZ crossover. This way I will have a static crossover for now and later on when I get my new Pre/Pro I will most likely be able to adjust the crossover seeing in the processor.
    So here is how it would look:
    Reciever -> RCA to XLRM cable -> amp -> terminal cup -> crossover (inside of the box) -> speakers.
    Does that look right?
    Now All I need to do is find out how to build this simple crossover and I should be good (I have some soldering experience so that shouldnt be a problem). I have tried www.passivecrossovers.com and that didn't tell me how to build them, just told me what they were and how they worked. Can anyone suggest a website on how to build a LP crossover?

2. Saurav

Saurav Cinematographer

There was a thread on this a week or so ago, I think in the Speaker forum. I posted a link to a kit for an active line level crossover. Run a search on all forums for "John Pomann", and you should be able to find that thread. You might find that discussion useful.

Edit: If you build a line level XO, it would go between your sub-out and the amp, but I'm sure you realize that.

3. jeff lam

jeff lam Screenwriter

Jeff Lam
  4. Anthony Sa

Anthony Sa Agent

I did realize that a line-level crossover would go inbetween the sub-out and the amp but I figured it might be easier to build a passive crossover, maybe I was wrong? It has happened before!

And those line-level crossovers from parts express. will those work alright? If those do, I might actually consider those instead of building. But they seem to be for car stereos?

5. Anthony Sa

Anthony Sa Agent