What's new

Budget setup advice (1 Viewer)

Lee Bosley

Auditioning
Real Name
Lee
Hi guys!

First off, I've got a modern 55" TV, but naturally the onboard sound isn't at all satisfying.

I'm on a budget of around $800, so I realise this puts me at the bottom end. I'd still rather go for a conservative real-setup than a soundbar. This will be my first build, so assume I'm a complete beginner.

Not sure it's of any use, but I inherited a Sony STR-k990 receiver from a friend, whilst I know it's old, I figure it might give me more cash to put towards to the other components. Is it even worth trying to re-use this? Or shall I just recycle it. I'm unclear if it's got the beef to power modern speakers anymore (?).

I was thinking initially of just a 2.0 or 2.1 setup, then adding a subwoofer and center later once my finances allow, so that I can keep the components more respectable. Then further increasing to a 5.1 later on.

Not adverse to buying 2nd hand or trawling Craigslist for bargains either.

Just looking for some thoughts or recommendations from you more seasoned listeners.

Thanks!

Lee.

Todd Erwin

Reviewer
HW Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Todd Erwin
Lee - Welcome to Home Theater Forum!

I would forget about that Sony receiver you inherited. There are no HDMI ports and pretty much everything runs off HDMI these days. I would look at Yamaha or Onkyo kits (receiver plus 5.1 speakers) to start if you want to start off with a full HT system, or look at some 2018 model year receivers as those are on clearance and will help stretch your dollar. These aren't used or refurbished, either. Two months ago, I picked up a Denon AVR-X2400 7.2 receiver with Dolby Atmos capability on clearance from Amazon for under $250. This was last year's model and originally sold for $800. I see they are still available, so that may be worth checking out, then looking at a pair of speakers plus subwoofer and building from there.