What's new

budget minded receiver and speaker purchase (1 Viewer)

William Gibbons

Auditioning
Hi y'all,
Been searching thru the forums the past couple days and can't tell ya how helpful its been. I'm new to home theater and the HTF. Just wanted to take a minute to introduce myself and fire off a couple of questions.

I recently picked up a 55" Mitsubishi WS55511 and now have the enjoyable task of acquiring various components.

Here's what I have so far,

Comcast HD Cable box
JVC 7-Disc DVD Player/Changer

What I'm interested in getting next is a receiver and speakers.

My room is 21' x 21' w/ a vaulted ceiling. My budget is close to $1500 for a receiver and speakers. For a receiver, I was planning on spending $500 and about a $1000 on speakers.
Receiver wise, I figured I would be in the Yamaha, HK, or Denon territory for something that would be a good middle of the road unit that I could enjoy for years to come.

Speakers on the other hand, I want to make sure they can handle the room size and this is where I need help. What I do know is that I'm not interested in floor mounted units for the left and right, I'd like them to be good sized bookshelf speakers. And for left and right rear speakers, they'd have to be wall mounted ones that aren't too big.

Any suggestions/advice would be greatly appreciated.

WG

Andy Young

Stunt Coordinator
$1,500 for receiver and speakers should be doable. I'd recommend compromising on the receiver before the speakers, if it comes to that.

My speakers are Paradigm Phantoms (main), Atoms (surr), CC-270, and PDR-12 sub. I got the bunch for just around $1,150. You can do a search in the speakers forum for some reviews I did on my speakers. They're great and I'm very pleased with their performance. I demoed them (actually the smaller Titans) against B&W 600, 601, and 602. Easy choice for my ears.

I would think that a system of Titans (main), Atoms (surr), CC-170, and PDR-10/12 sub would sound great for around $800.