Budget Home Theater Advice

Discussion in 'Beginners, General Questions' started by Ben.K, Sep 28, 2003.

1. Ben.K

Ben.K Auditioning

Hello,

Disclaimer: I am extremely new to decent audio.

We are moving to a larger house in a few months and will need to put in some speakers. First, the new house has a media room. In this room, we will put a Sony flatscreen TV (I believe just under 40") which we purchased a few years ago. For the sound system, we need a pair of front channel speakers. There are already built in rear channel speakers. I am unsure of the brand. We also would like to reuse our JBL center channel speaker and subwoofer.

The front speakers will be used for listening to music, mainly Jazz and some rock and blues. They will also, of course, be used for the home theater system. Today I got a chance to get to the local Good Guys and listen to some things. In their demo room, the guy showed us various models from Klipsch, Monitor, and Energy. Personally, I found the Klipsch and the Monitor to be suited to my tastes. The Monitor seemed darker and little fuller but the Klipsch were pleasing as well. For the front speakers I have no preference: either bookshelf or floorstanding, whatever sounds better.

We also will need some speakers to go in various other rooms to serve mostly as background music (i.e. should sound good but will not be heavily scrutinized). These will need to be built into the ceiling. The salesman at Good Guys showed us some Klipsch and some Niles speakers. The Niles sounded better by far, but were 750 a pair, more than we would like to spend on something that will be playing mostly background music.

Lastly, we will have to get some outdoor speakers. For these, we were showed some Klipsch, some Bose, and a pair of Niles. I liked the Klipsch the best, but again they were the most expensive; more than I could justify for something that will play background music.