Budget 5.1 setup: looking for comments/suggestions

Discussion in 'Beginners, General Questions' started by Nate Schutz, Sep 8, 2003.

1. Nate Schutz

Nate Schutz Auditioning

Hi. I'm very new to the world of home audio, and I'm looking to put together a 5.1 system on a shoestring budget (college student). I had originally planned to spend about $500, but the reading I've done suggests I would be very unsatisfied with anything I could cobble together for that price. After a solid weekend of research, I have expanded my budget significantly and come up with this as a starting point:

Yamaha HTR-5550: $229.95
    JBL S26II x 4: $299.76
    Yamaha YST-SW320 (refurb): $236.41

Those prices are all delivered to my door. I would eventually add a JBL SCENTERII unless I found myself very satisfied with that 4.1 system.

I don't watch a lot of movies, so this system will be primarily used for music listening with some surround gaming. I'm pretty picky about my music, so that should be the emphasis. I mostly include matched surround speakers above because I found a great price on them (and in case I decide to start watching movies on this system).

So now that all that's out of the way, I have some questions:

I really like the look of the Rocket ELT system, and people around here seem to regard it pretty highly. Would it be worth saving an extra $500 and waiting an extra 3 or 4 months to pick that up, maybe with a bit better receiver? I could probably afford (at least in the very strictest sense of the word) to do that, but I would rather not unless it's going to sound a lot better.

And what about the Rocket ELT sub? Would an extra $150 or so be worth it to pick that up over SW320 (again, remembering I'm primarily a music listener)?
    If I do decide to go with the SW320, what kind of cabling should I pick up to get the most out of it? I've read it can be pretty sluggish for music with poor cables.