Bright sounding speakers

Discussion in 'Speakers' started by Ed Kerns, Feb 21, 2005.

1. Ed Kerns

Ed Kerns Agent

Any one else get the impression that their ears are the weakest link in the audio chain? I've been a rock n roll musician for almost 30 years and as a kid went from one ear infection to another. In short, my hearing leaves much to be desired. I tend to be very finicky about mix and detail of sound, but my upper frequency hearing is shot. Consequently I'm shopping for a set of speakers that compensate a bit for my shortcomings. I've listened to Paradigm Mini monitors and liked them, also the small studio speakers from them. I'm sure the studio line is a better balanced speaker, but (at least in a short audition) I liked the monitors as well. I've also heard and liked the Athena F-1s, but haven't heard the F-2's. I have a Def Tech sub that produces sufficient bass to compliment what ever I choose for fronts, but I'd still like a full range speaker that could stand on it's own. I'm not sure either of the lines I've heard fit that bill, though perhaps larger enclosures like the F-2 or larger Paradigm monitors. Right now I listen to about 80% movies 20% music, but that might change if the music were to sound good again! My budget top ends at about $1000, but as always, value is everything. Any suggestions for drivers with the characteristics I describe? My receiver is an Onkyo 7.1 with 100 watts per channel at 8 ohms. Thanks! Ed

2. SethH

SethH Cinematographer

Klipsch speakers -- especially the reference series -- are widely described as bright.

3. MikeLi

MikeLi Supporting Actor