What's new

Brand new to home theater (1 Viewer)

Mark Riley

Agent
Hi, I just signed up for this board yesterday and I'm totally new to this so please excuse my ignorance. I'm only a poor college student so I'm trying to build a nice low end home theater in my fixed up cellar.

I have an old 27 inch TV hooked up with only Coaxial(I know, yuck) but I hooked a VCR to that and that is going to my Sony STR-DE597 receiver as well as KLH 9250B front speakers, a Dreamcast, and an old Fisher Record player/dual tape deck.

I'm slowly trying to build up without replacing stuff yet. Since I only have the 2 front speakers, I figure I'd want to get a subwoofer next. I have no idea what kind or what to spend on one though. I guess I'd want something about the same quality as the 9250B's because if one is better than the other, things wouldn't sound right(too much bass or not enough) right?

Jack Briggs

Senior HTF Member
Mark, since you're asking for subwoofer help I've moved your post to here, in Speakers/Subs. The Basics area is for general discussion at the beginner level strictly. For advice on what to purchase or for other input, please post in the appropriate hardware-related area. Thank you.

MikeDuke

Stunt Coordinator
Welcome
Since you only have the fronts at this point, I might suggest that you get a center and surrounds first. Then you can add a subwoofer. This way, you will have a much better home theater experience. The only thing missing will be the bass. You also did not say if you had a DVD player. That is a must. I think that a full set up minus a sub will be fine for now. You will be impressed with all of the movement around your room. Now, for possibilities, I would look at Definitive Technology, Plasma Docs look like they have some good stuff at a decent price. They both have speakers that are pretty reasonable. It will sound a little different, but it should still work fine. And besides, if you decide to upgrade your fronts, you will have a fine set up.