Bought New Home with Theater Room... Please help.

Discussion in 'Displays' started by Melissa_, Jul 25, 2005.

1. Melissa_

Melissa_ Auditioning

Hi everyone. First, please bear with me as I'm REALLY new to all of this, but am trying desparately to wrap my brain around it all. [​IMG]

I just purchased a new home with a theater room (20'W x 30'L-approx.). The room has no windows, and has been wired for surround sound and a ceiling mount projector. In the front of the room there is a wall to fit a 100" screen. While this room is by far the most intriguing to me, I also don't want to go broke trying to get it completed! I am looking to "get in the door" with bargin equipment at the present (but still have a great viewing experience) and be able to upgrade later down the road (when $$$ is flowing better).

Any suggestions of equipment that I can research further would be GREATLY appreciated!!!

2. Holadem

Holadem Lead Actor

Tell us what you need and we (well, they [​IMG]) will tell you how to get there.

At the very least, we need to know how much $$$ you're willing to start with.

--
    H

3. Melissa_

Melissa_ Auditioning

Not sure how crazy this amount is, but I was hoping to get everything for about $2,000-2,500. Is that unreasonable, or is it not worth even getting started until I have more $$$ to spend?

I was thinking at a minimum:

Projector w/mount:
    Screen - 100":
    Surround Sound:

4. Holadem

Holadem Lead Actor

The projector will cost you $1000 - the obvious choice being Infocus 4805 or the equivalent Optoma, BenQ (etc...) models.

The problem is that your room is pretty big, and you're gonna have hard time filling that room with sound on $1500 budget.

I would allocate $1100 for a speaker + sub package from online vendors like Axiom - check the hardware forums.

you should be able to find a decent receiver for $400. Again, the issue is power, so hopefully the speakers you pick are efficient.