What's new

Bose Speakers with Sony receiver/DVD player Please help (1 Viewer)

Dani Anton

Auditioning
Hi guys,
I'm new at HTF, and I heard great things about it.
I am on the market for a HT system and I had my eyes on the following units:
Sony STR-DE985 and SONY DVP-NS755.
I am looking in getting a set of speakers that would work with this units, but I need them to be small. My budget on the system is about 2K
Somebody recommended me that I should go with Bose accoustimas 15, or 16 style. In the same time I heard people complaining about Bose.
Is there anything that I could use instead of Bose (but within the same price range)?
To be honest I am not crazy myself about Bose but I do like the size.
Any suggestions with be deeply appreciated.
Thanks.
Dani
Addition to my previous thread...
Refering to the speakers I am looking to buy, I also need to combine the use of the speakers from watching movies (using, dolby sorround system) and also listening to CD/radio). Again, highest fidelity is not my main concern, but I would like to keep the speakers to a minimal size (if possible).
My price raqnge is about $1000-1200 just for the speakers (including SUB).
I tried listening to other sets in stores like Circuit City, or Best Buy, but they don't have a vast selection of sets (or maybe I don't know what to look for).
Checking out online for speakers, didn't do much good for me because I am not good with the specs.
That said, I am looking for help and advices.

RussKon

Stunt Coordinator
anything would be better than bose!!!! take some time and do some listening to any of the other offerings at your local stereo shops...let your ears decide!!!!!!!

personally, i like the bookshelf options from klipsch

Russ

Stephen Hopkins

HW Reviewer
Senior HTF Member