Bose Question

Discussion in 'Speakers' started by mike__j, Sep 4, 2004.

1. mike__j

mike__j Extra

Hello,
    I have been looking at the new lifestyle 38 system. I have spoken with a store owner that sells all types af brands. He recommends the Bose over any of the systems he sells. I have also been looking at SVS and Axiom highs. This is my 1st home theater system and I am new at this. I have read several forums that slam Bose and this concerns me. The man at the store said the new Bose systems have improved greatly. What are your thoughts?
    Thanks Mike

2. GrahamT

GrahamT Supporting Actor

I think there is more commission for the bose stuff.

You cant lose with Axiom and SVS, a lot of people here use that combo. Go out to some hi fi shops and bring your favourite songs. Listen to some real speakers, Energy, PSB, Polk, Paradigm, Klipsch, Mission, Totem, Mirage, JBL, etc etc. Maybe check out some net direct speaks like Axiom, Ascend Acosutics etc.

3. Cameron Yee

Cameron Yee Executive Producer
    Reviewer

Cameron Yee
    You won't find any Bose lovers here either. Just do a search on "Bose" and you'll find plenty of opinions, though you may have to wade through a lot to get to the actual reasons why. The bottom line is, let your ears decide. Be sure to compare Bose to other known brands and do price-for-performance evaluation. Most people who do this seem to choose something else besides Bose.

4. Chu Gai

Chu Gai Lead Actor

In advertising, this is another way of saying "It doesn't stink as badly as whatever we used to sell."

For the same money, you can do better. People might be able to guide you if you can describe the size of your room and what sort of speakers you're looking for. For example, many want a system where the speakers are very small, much like the smallish Bose cubes. If that's the case, there are several cost effective alternatives.

So...whatcha got?

5. Andrew*L

Andrew*L Agent

Mike,