What's new

Bose Acoustimass - 4 or 8 ohm? (1 Viewer)

Patrick.C

Second Unit
First a disclaimer - I'm a total newbie to the home theater hobby, but I know better than to buy Bose. I own an Acoustimass 6 simply because my wife won the speaker battle after seeing them demo'ed at a Bose store. (She likes their appearance more than anything). She agreed to stay out of the components and tv if we bought the Bose, so...

I picked up the speakers back in January when I found a good deal on them. They sat in the box until last week when I picked up a new receiver (Onkyo 601). No problems thus far, but I ran into something regarding the ohm rating of the speakers that I wanted to ask the group here about. Two people (one a knowledgeable salesperson and the other a friend) have told me that Bose Acoustimass speakers are 4 ohm. Being that my new Onkyo can only push 6 to 8, I started looking through the Bose manual to see if they were correct. Every spec sheet that I've come across lists them as "compatible with receivers rated at 4 to 8 ohms" instead of the standard "this is an 8 ohm speaker". So I called Bose. The guy on the other end of the line had to put me on hold for 5 minutes to go check and when he came back on, apologized for the delay and said that he "had to make sure he had all of his ducks in a row" (for something as simple as an ohm rating?!?). He said that they are indeed an 8 ohm speaker and not to worry about hooking them up to my Onkyo.

I can't help being suspicious here. For one, why the funny "compatible with, etc." instead of a standard ohm rating? And why did it take the guy so long to find out? Anyone know what the deal is here?

ClintS

Stunt Coordinator