What's new

Boosting the center channel. NEED advice! (1 Viewer)

GeddyT

Auditioning
I'm pretty new to home theater and my setup is pretty thrown together (college student, low funds).

I originally bought a Philips mx966 setup and liked it a lot for what I paid. Then one of the surrounds burnt out and I was left deciding whether to order a replacement or upgrade. Then my dad offered to give me his set of four really, really nice Infinity speakers (they were bought in about '94, but are amazing) for free. Couldn't turn that down. Only problem was that the Infinitys overpowered my Philips little center speaker. So I went out and bought a nice center speaker to balance it out. Can't afford Infinity center channel, so bought an Energy XL-C100.

I'm discouraged that this didn't do the trick either. The Infinitys are just too beefy no matter what I do. I can't hear anything anybody's saying in most movies that I watch. I've looked into just playing with the receiver settings, but the mx996 does not allow you to raise the level of the center channel. In fact, the only channel it does let you play with is the rears. But it's the two front channels that are drowning the center out and I can't raise or lower them at all.

My question is, is there a product that will take the line to the center channel and boost it's power? I'm thinking like an in-line mono amplifier that will accept high current and not preamp. I've looked for two hours online for something that will do this and am surprised to have drawn a blank.

Or are there any other recommendations for boosting just the center channel without breaking the bank? Thanks for the help and sorry for the long post.