What's new

Bookshelves for Dorm Room (1 Viewer)

Ben Lindell

Auditioning
I recently bought a Denon DRA 685 for music listening in my dorm room and I have yet to find speakers to go on the receiver. I have listened to Titans and some Boston bookshelves, both seemed lacking in different areas.

Basically, I need a recommendation for a good set of bookshelf speakers that have a pretty flat response. I am on a budget here because of college but I really dont want to sacrifice quality. Space is also an issue because of the dorm room setting. Im a newbie to this and it seems a daunting task to me to pick a speaker that is right for me in my application.

Thank you for your help
Ben

Ben Lindell

Auditioning
First of all, I want to thank you all for your responses.
I am on a pretty tight budget and I would like to stay under 300 for my speakers. I looked at Wharfdale 8.1's because of the good rating as well as the Axiom line.
does anyone have an opinion on these speakers?

Debbie_L

Stunt Coordinator
Hey Ben,

You've already received some good suggestions -- check out the links below for a few more:

http://www.audioadvisor.com/store/pr...?sku=MIRFRX3CH

http://www.audioshop.on.ca/dahlquistmains.htm (Keep in mind that prices listed are in Canadian dollars -- the exchange rate is in your favor so you'll pay much less in US dollars)

http://www.partsexpress.com/pe/pshow...=300-640&DID=7 (If you don't mind building your own speakers, you could put this kit together in an afternoon. These speakers are highly regarded here at HTF and on other boards as well.)

Good luck and let us know what you end up with.

Debbie

Jason Wilcox

Supporting Actor
http://www.speakerpage.com/K05B11.htm

how bout the SCH k05b11?...surprisingly flat response

down just 6db at 46hz...

the only downside is that they start to distort at 95db...but if you don't listen at very loud levels...you should be a-ok

oh yeah...they are only $140