What's new

Blueprint 1203 comapared to Mass 2012 (1 Viewer)

ChristianT

Grip
I am new to DIY and am very anxious to get started on my first Sonosub. I am going to order my single 12" driver this week, and I am having some trouble determining the differences between the Blueprint 1203 and the Mass 2012. When I compare the driver specs, it appears that different formulas are used to establish the values for measurements.
For example:
Mass 2012 Cms (mm/N)= .31
Blueprint Cms (uM/N)= 133.0
As stated before, I am new to DIY and would like to get a grasp on the different specifications used define a driver. If someone could point me to some data on driver measurements I would appreciate it. In the meantime, I would still like to purchase my driver this week. If one (or more) of the many experts I have seen post on this forum would take the time to compare the specs of these two drivers, comment on the differences of the specs, and note the most significant numbers used to compare drivers, I would really appreciate it. Opinions would be appreciated, though I understand that some people are going to be hesitant to make firm recommendations. The specs are as follows matched up as best as I can (using the single vc 2012 since I believe the 1203 is svc):
Blueprint 1203 Mass 2012
Fs = 29.3 Hz Fs = 23 Hz
Re = 3.6 Ohms Re VC (ohms) 3.0
Qms = 7.20 Qms = 6.4
Qes = 0.30 Qes = .52
Qts = 0.29 Qts = .48
Cms = 133.0 uM/N Cms = .31 mm/N
Mms = 220.0 grams Mmd = 158 grams
Sd = 486.0 cmsq Sd (Sq.In./Sq.M) 77/.051
Vas = 44.80 liters Vas (Cu. ft./L) 3.3’ / 91 L
SPL = 87.60 dB SPL (2.83V/1m) 89 dB
X-max = 45mm p-p X-max (one-way) 20.7 mm /.82”
Power = 1000+ watts Continuous Power (RMS) 600 Watts
Thanks in advance for your help.
Christian

Julian Data

Second Unit
Christian:
Before jumping the gun, I would wait for BP to get their driver's DUMAX'd.
------------------

James W. Johnson

Screenwriter
Before jumping the gun, I would wait for BP to get their driver's DUMAX'd.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>.