Blue fuzzyness, moire and the designer menu... Please help my 55HX70!!!

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Maximil, Aug 28, 2001.

  1. Maximil

    Maximil Agent

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2001
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello all, I have a 55HX70.
    I've tried mechanical and electro. focus, and the Herman-TLV tweak, but I still can't seem to get rid of the major blue "fuzz" around the convergence gridlines. Is it possible to tweak the blue gun another way?
    Also, I have always noticed quite a bit of moire patterns, is there a way to reduce this as well?
    And last, but not least, I don't suppose anyone has figured out a way into the Designer menu in the HX70 series. (?)
    Thanks for any insight to these matters [​IMG]
     
  2. Scott Shanks

    Scott Shanks Second Unit

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2001
    Messages:
    380
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Louisville, Ky
    Real Name:
    Scott Shanks
    The blue gun can not be focused as tightly as the red and the green gun. Therefore, you will always see the blue "fuzz" on the convergence grid.
    Hope this helps.
    Scott Shanks
    Louisville, KY
    ------------------
     
  3. Maximil

    Maximil Agent

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2001
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, I'm beginning to think that the blue is as good as I can get it. I wonder if astigmatism adj. would help (only heard of it, don't know how).
    Thanks...
     
  4. Paul Walther

    Paul Walther Agent

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Go here- http://www.bus.ucf.edu/cwhite/theater/AddrMode.htm
    to learn about entering designer mode (on this year of sets it's called ADDR mode). I've done this on my 55hx70- very simple to do, but you must have a Cinema 7 model remote to activate it. By the way, you didn't actually mean service mode instead of designer mode did you? There's really much more to tweak in service mode. Most people use designer mode (ADDR mode) to lower the contrast of the service convergence grid and reset the user-convergence values. For service mode advice go here: http://www.bus.ucf.edu/cwhite/theater/Convergence.htm For extensive service and designer mode advice go here: http://www.keohi.com/keohihdtv/usefu...ignermode.html
    For my article on manually "squeezing" the 55HX70 for anamorphic movies go here: http://www.keohi.com/keohihdtv/usefu...sh_55hx70.html
    Enjoy!
    Paul
    ------------------
    DocW
     
  5. Maximil

    Maximil Agent

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2001
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you very much! Yes, the designer/addr menu is exactly what I was looking for to reset the user convergence and hopefully adjust the color decoder (according to Avia, my colors are screwed, red is like -25%, blue 10%)
    So how much is this remote?
    Have you tried the Herman-TLV tweak on your HX70? I'm still in the process of trying to even out the colors.
     
  6. Paul Walther

    Paul Walther Agent

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    I haven't done the TLV maneuver as yet. Sharpness has been good on my set, particularly in its manual anamorphic squeeze mode (I sit far from the set, however- about 16'). I did do the electrical and mechanical focus, however. I notice here- http://www.bus.ucf.edu/cwhite/theater/HermanTLV.htm that the TLV maneuver causes some color imbalance and grey scale change- I assume that's what you're fixing now. My set's color decoder measures spot on using the Avia test- that's partly why I'm shy on doing the TLV.
    Regarding the moire effect- my set only shows moire problems when I'm viewing anamorphic DVDs in regular 4:3 mode (due to poor 4:3 downconversion by my DVD player). When manually "squeezed", I get zero moire effect on the same scenes. Very happy with performance so far.
    The Cinema 7 remotes are available at Best Buy- I think I got mine for around $20.00. Mine is not the actual Cinema model 7, but another by the same manufacturer that also has the "setup" button needed to activate the TV.
    Please keep us informed on how your tweaks work out, and good luck!
    Paul
     

Share This Page