What's new

Bipoles on rear wall -or- direct firing on side wall? (1 Viewer)

MikeC_FL

Auditioning
Please take a look at the following layout diagram:

mysite.verizon.net/res8gfg5/layout_a_or_b.jpg

(I'm still a newbie around here so I can't post images or URLs yet).

What would be better in this situation:

A -> direct firing facing the couch?

or

B -> Bi-poles on the back wall?

John Garcia

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
John
Bi/Dipoles are not "direct" firing, and are not intended to be positioned directly pointed at the listener, so A will probably not work. B would be OK, and if you are mounting with brackets, you could put them at an angle in each corner, reflecting off each side wall.

If you can, I'd pull the couch away from the wall. Against the wall is about the worst place you can sit in terms of sound.

MikeC_FL

Auditioning
I guess I was not clear in my question. The "A" speakers would not be bi-poles, rather they would be direct-firing (bookshelf type) speakers pointing at each other "over" the couch. The "B" speakers would be the bi-polar speakers (currently considering Polk FXi3). Given that information, which do you think work better?

ChrisRuh

Stunt Coordinator
Mike-

I was recently in your shoes... to my knowledge most manufactures recommend scenario "B" if your listening position is *close* to the backwall (as in your diagram...the couch is right up against it). However, I had a situation where there was a good 15' or so between the listening position and rear wall and opted for scenario "A" with the speakers placed midway on the side walls. To me the sound is much more diffuse and I really like it much more than direct radiating speakers.

Attempt both scenarios if possible and see what you like...you may have to place them on stepladders or something similar, but well worth the effort.

EricSm

Stunt Coordinator