What's new

BIG thanks to all of you from a newbie!!! (1 Viewer)

Martin_Baucom

Auditioning
Guys, I just wanted to thank you all for this great forum.

I recently bought my first home (closed two weeks ago) and the 3rd bedroom/den/study was just screaming for a home theater system. I had no idea where to start -- aside from replacing my old Toshiba 21" television that still looks great after about 15 years -- but I knew there had to be a place where I could get the skinny.

I started out by researching televisions through magazine articles reprinted on the web. Also looked at some Consumer Reports stuff and those feedback-driven rating sites where everybody gives the product they just purchased 5 stars.

Part of what I do for a living relies on research conducted through the internet, and I know there's a lot of bad information out there. But I also know that if you find a group of serious devotees to virtually any subject and seek their consensus, you are likely to find out more than through any other course of research.

Well, this turned out to be the place where those serious devotees reside. And there was very little bickering between members regarding the right way to do things or the best products to buy. Lots of well-informed posters giving balanced opinions. I took it all to heart and came up with the best system for me (again, the way most of you guys tend to balance the information by allowing for differences in personal preference and finance is the best thing about this board):

Sony Wega 32fs17 (from Costco at a great deal)

Toshiba SD1700 DVD (i don't really need a changer)

Kenwood HTB-504

That's what I have so far, and I can't believe how GREAT it looks and sounds. My fiancee, who was skeptical but allowed me this one room for my new toys, has been blown away by it.