biamp vs. monobridge

Discussion in 'AV Receivers' started by Benihana, Sep 7, 2004.

  1. Benihana

    Benihana Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have 2 amplifiers that i am currently vertically bi-amping my main speakers with . They are Audiosource Amp Three's running Mirage M-3si speakers. My question is that will it be better to monobridge them and have 400 watts to each speaker as opposed to the 150 watts supplied to each low and high terminals on each speaker? When i went from just 1 amp to 2 amps on this system, it was an immense improvement, music just seemed to sound loud before, but now it doesn't sound loud, but IS LOUD, effortless. Just wondering if i can get better power/sound monobridging. Any ideas?
     
  2. John Garcia

    John Garcia Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 1999
    Messages:
    11,571
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NorCal
    Real Name:
    John
    >edit
     
  3. JohnSmith

    JohnSmith Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    554
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You don't get extra power with biamping, however each amp is driving less drive units, so you'll find the amps will run cooler. That means the amps are being stressed less.

    I use bi-amped HT & Hi-fi system and do notice the difference. Try it for yourself.
     
  4. ScottCHI

    ScottCHI Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,292
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    a bi-amped setup allows more tweaking of the level of the individual drivers, doesn't it?
     
  5. JohnSmith

    JohnSmith Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    554
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Why should you want to do that? If your pre-amp and poweramps are from the same make/range then the input gain for both amps is the same, so no worries that one is out.

    Unless you mean active bi-amping (with line-level crossover cards) between the pre and poweramp stages? (so one poweramp only receives HF, the other only LF)
     
  6. Robert Cowan

    Robert Cowan Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2003
    Messages:
    504
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    since no one mentioned it yet...

    when you bridge an amp, you do three things:

    1.) increase power
    2.) increase distortion
    3.) half the lowest impedence you can drive.

    so, for instance, if you bridge your amp, before, you got 0.5% THD, and the lowest impedance you could drive was 4 ohms, now, you have 8 ohms as the lowest and 1% THD. this doesnt mean your amp will explode below that, but its distortion figures go up a lot higher. basically, the amp will act at 4 ohms like it would have into 2 ohms. so, if in stereo mode, your amp gave 1% THD, and clipped easily, when it is bridged, you will get 2% THD and clip easily at only 4 ohms...
     
  7. Wayne A. Pflughaupt

    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 1999
    Messages:
    6,184
    Likes Received:
    51
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Katy, TX
    Real Name:
    Wayne
    What Robert said. Bridging is fine for subs but usually not the best thing for mains.
     
  8. Chris_Liberti

    Chris_Liberti Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2003
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I always thought that bridging doubled power, halved the lowest impedance you could drive, increased the damping factor, and LOWERED distortion.
     
  9. Chu Gai

    Chu Gai Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2001
    Messages:
    7,270
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No, what Mr. Cowan said is correct.

    That's one way to look at it. It also allows for more mismatching and improper gain setting which is attributable to many noted 'improvements'.
     
  10. ScottCHI

    ScottCHI Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,292
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    o i agree. the last thing someone (like me!) needs sometimes is more damn knobs to twiddle with.
     
  11. Wayne A. Pflughaupt

    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 1999
    Messages:
    6,184
    Likes Received:
    51
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Katy, TX
    Real Name:
    Wayne
    Apparently the truth lies somewhere in between. In a cursory search at QSC’s website I found that their Powerlight amplifier line shows no increase in distortion when bridged. However, their DCA line doubles distortion when bridged.

    A post made at another thread this morning indicates that HK’s PA-2000 is published with no distortion penalty in bridging mode.

    However, I don’t see how bridging could ever result in lower distortion.

    Regards,
    Wayne A. Pflughaupt
     
  12. Chu Gai

    Chu Gai Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2001
    Messages:
    7,270
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If the distortion is low enough, it becomes a moot point.
     
  13. Chris_Liberti

    Chris_Liberti Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2003
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    True anything less than 1% is inaudible and most people can't even tell the difference up to 3% distortion.
     
  14. John Pine

    John Pine Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2002
    Messages:
    989
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    110
    Real Name:
    John Pine
    Ok, I understand the fact that "anything less than 1% is inaudible", but now I'm curious. Should I be suspicious of the fact that the THD is listed the same whether the amp is bridged or not?

    H/K PA2000 specs:

    4 x 45 watts @ 8 ohms, 20Hz - 20kHz,
     
  15. John Pine

    John Pine Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2002
    Messages:
    989
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    110
    Real Name:
    John Pine
    Anyone?
     
  16. Wayne A. Pflughaupt

    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 1999
    Messages:
    6,184
    Likes Received:
    51
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Katy, TX
    Real Name:
    Wayne
    I think you can find the answer to your question by revewing what has already been posted, John.
     
  17. John Pine

    John Pine Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2002
    Messages:
    989
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    110
    Real Name:
    John Pine
    Yes, yes Wayne I've already read the thread at least 3 times. But now I'm suspicious of the specs because of what I've read. I understand it's a moot point, but hey...I'm still curious.
     

Share This Page