BFD setup samples

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by MikeHalder, Feb 17, 2002.

1. MikeHalder

MikeHalder Stunt Coordinator

Well I am collecting data for setting up my BFD tommorrow and wanted some suggestions on filter placement/setting based on my data. The two worksheets show the freq response with my base management in place @50HZ and the mains turned off (A/B switch), and the second with a direct feed of the tones without base management or crossovers in line. This is my first attempt at EQing using measured data instead of personal preference, any help or suggestions would be GREATLY appreciated.[​IMG]
    Mike
    Base Management
    No Base Managemnt/Crossovers

2. Larry Rasmussen

I've been following the equalizer set up threads with interest because I plan to get a BFD to use with my SVS. I believe that you would want to measure with the crossover or bass management you are going to use on and the front main speakers also on. I bet if you post that measurement you would get some specific ideas. You may find that you have a hump or a dip around crossover depending on the response of your mains.

3. MikeHalder

MikeHalder Stunt Coordinator

All the folks who have poated on this subject have recommended EQing the sub only w/o the mains. I put both grapphs on the same chart and foun that the follow the same pattern with or without the base management except for a few dB drop after the 50HZ where the crossover slope comes into play. If I figure there should be a 12dB/Octave slope in the graph at 50 HZ...I think thats the way it should look with base management in place.

Mike

4. brucek

brucek Second Unit

Mike,
    What you have done is quite correct. You don't want the mains involved at this point.