BFD and "home curve"

Discussion in 'Home Theater Projects' started by JohnGil, Jan 12, 2004.

1. JohnGil

JohnGil Stunt Coordinator

Well I bought a BFD the other day and have been reading post after post on EQing subs. Im fairly new to the EQing realm and all these posts are starting to make my head spin. The more I read the more I'm convinced that using "Home Curve" is the way to go. Now through all this reading I have yet to read how to determine exactly what the "Home Curve" is and how I go about determining it in MY room.

From what I gather, the home curve is the natural response of the room taken with the RS SPL "C" whighted and "slow" response with no correction factor. Then you would use the BFD ParEQ to tame the peaks based on this raw data.

I'm trying to take the info I need and apply it without too much technical junk getting in my way (keeping it simple).

2. Wayne A. Pflughaupt

Wayne
    John,

I could set you up with some "all about" links regarding a house curve, but my computer is down for repairs so I don't have access to my references right now.

It's not hard to do a house curve. All you need is a program source with 1/6-octave sine-wave test tones, some graph paper and an SPL meter.

As you may have already figured out from your research and reading, a house curve is response that sounds flat rather than measures flat. This means that with a house curve, lower bass frequencies will measure higher than upper bass frequencies.

The reference points I like to use are 32Hz and 100Hz. To get the house curve your room needs, those two frequencies should sound like they are the same volume. Measured response between those two points should be as flat as possible, which means you end up with a rising slope. It usually sounds best if response is shelved (measures flat) below 32Hz.

Hope this helps,
    Wayne A. Pflughaupt

3. Allen Ross

Allen Ross Supporting Actor

what kind of slope/gain are you looking at from 35-100HZ?

4. JohnGil