Between these receivers, which would you choose, and why?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Jordan.P, Aug 29, 2002.

1. Jordan.P

Jordan.P Auditioning

I'm basically a Home Theater newbie, but I'm not so naive as to think you would all recommend receivers within my price range. :) So I narrowed it down to 5. Now there's no need to badmouth the 5, I realize they're not even top of the mid-line range of receivers.
    If these were the only 5 receivers on the face of the earth (and you're not able to import from other planets due to high tariffs), which would you choose? For extra gold stars, reasons for decision would be most appreciated!
    1. Yamaha HTR-5560
    http://www.bestbuy.com/detail.asp?e=...1&cat=3&scat=4
    2. Sony STR-DE985
    3. Pioneer VSX-D811S
    4. Kenwood VR-6060
    5. Kenwood VR-6070
    Thanks for your input!
    -Jordan

2. RichardMA

RichardMA Second Unit

The Yamaha. Same thing as their RX-V line of receivers
    and it can drive any speakers you throw at it.
    The rest probably can't handle below 6 ohms.

3. John Garcia

John Garcia Executive Producer

John
    I would open my own store, and import the good stuff. Best Buy is not the place to shop for receivers.

Out of those, those, I would choose the 811S or the 5560, and neither if I had other choices. All of the Yamahas that BB carries sound bright to me, but they have good amps. The 811 (41TX I listened to) was not spectacular with music (no processing), but not bad overall.

I've owned Sony DE, and likely never will again. Most of Kenwood's stuff below the Sovereign line does not impress me either, and would actually say they are very similar in terms of performance to the Sony DEs in the same price range.

If $500 is your budget, you have some better choices.

4. Gustavo Meira

Gustavo Meira Auditioning

Can't do!

Do yourself a favour and buy a denon. there's certainly one within your budget!

5. John Garcia

John
    Marantz SR5200 msrp $549