Better speakers really needed?

Discussion in 'Speakers' started by James Sarno, Sep 24, 2003.

1. James Sarno

James Sarno Stunt Coordinator

Hello all...
    I would like to start by saying that I am new to HTF and I'm looking forward to joining in on all the fun.I have learned so much just by reading all of the threads and I'll be looking to learn so much more.
    Witch brings me to my question...
    I've been looking to upgrade my speaker system,the speakers in use now are the Infinity Entra One(2 floorstanding,center,2 rear and Entra sub)
    My problem is this,since my living room is not big(13'x17')they provide more than enough sound...crisp and clean(powered by a H/K avr110)...The thing is I have heard a few people talk about how good Paradigm speakers are and from what I've read in this forum,good reviews also...am I losing something by sticking with the entry level Infinity's?....can I find a 5.1 Paradigm setup?....if so what price range?...and is my avr110 strong enough to run them?...would they be too much in a 13x17 room?....I know...a lot of questions.
    ...Anyway,good to be here and thanks for any help you guys can give me.

2. ChrisLazarko

ChrisLazarko Supporting Actor

Well for your reciever, and HK is usually powerful enough to power a mid-sized room. As for speakers, it is really your decision. Some people like other speakers that other people don't. Just look around and if you like something better and really want it then get then. My recommendation goes to Klipsch though.

3. ChrisWiggles

ChrisWiggles Producer

Man, i had a wonderful, eloquent response typed up and my stupid IE crashed.

[​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

Oh well, i'll summarize, i probably got too winded anyway [​IMG]