What's new

Best way to break in new hiking boots? (1 Viewer)

JohnE

Supporting Actor
Does anyone have any tips or secrets for breaking in new hiking boots? I'm picking up a pair next weekend for a hike up in Canada I'm planning in Nov. I'd like them to be somewhat broken in before then so I don't end up with a couple of big oozing sores at the end of my legs. Thanks

Michael*K

Screenwriter
Just wear them as much as possible up until your trip. Wear them around the house, to the store, theater, office, etc. There's not really a "fast" way to break in a good pair of boots.

NickSo

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Nick So
Wear them alot :) Just walk aroudn in them, they'll break in easily..
What are you planning to get? Just curious coz i work as a footware salesperson in an outdoor sporting goods store :)

JohnE

Supporting Actor
What are you planning to get?
I haven't made up my mind yet. I'm planning on taking an afternoon and driving over to REI to try some different ones on and see what's comfortable. I'm certainly open to any suggestions. I'd like to keep the price at or below $150 and still get a good pair of waterproof hiking/backpacking boots.

MikeH1

Screenwriter
Real Name
Billy
I'm on my 3rd pair of Merrels. I always get the lightweights and to break them in I wear them around town just as the others have suggested.
Since your going to the land of the rain (not that your not there already :) ) some good rainproof ones would almost be a must. I can't help you much there cause I don't buy the fancy(expensive) waterproof ones.