1. Sign-up to become a member, and most of the ads you see will disappear. It only takes 30 seconds to sign up, so join the discussion today!
    Dismiss Notice

Best time to buy?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Andrew S, Oct 4, 2001.

1. Andrew S

Andrew S Stunt Coordinator

I'm a highschool student from Canada who has an interest in home theater. Being a high school student, I do not have access to a credit card, and even if I did, I couldn't order online (which from what I understand is where most of the good deals are) because of the exchange rate with the Canadian dollar. My question is, are there any tips and tricks many of you have learned over the years about buying equipment locally (I say locally because I'm pretty much limited to places like Sears and local dealers)? I'm guessing it's cheaper to buy equipment whenever the newer models are released, but is there anything anyone can add?
    Any response would be great...
    ------------------
    -
    Wish I had more money

2. Trey Jones

Trey Jones Stunt Coordinator

Well, I would say buy at the end of the month. If it is a company that works on commision, most of those people try to make more sales (no matter what the value) the closer it gets to pay day. Just like buying a car, they are willing to deal.
    ------------------
    Have you seen my audio rack?

3. Brian OK

Brian OK Supporting Actor

Andrew,
    Being a budding enthusiest about HT like you are, I would reach out to your fellow countrymen, who, I know, will help you in your quest to get the "good deals" for HT gear.
    You Canadians always seem to have the scoop where to source the best deals. I would start a new post entitled ---- "-------- (name your area) needs help sourcing HT equipment deals-- minimal budget".
    I wish you good luck.