What's new

Best Time and Place to buy snowboards? (1 Viewer)

Noah Gottula

Stunt Coordinator
I've only been up out snowboarding maybe 5 or 6 times, so im no expert but I dont suck either. I was wondering where the best place (not online) to buy them is at. Also when would be the best time. I know alot of places have sales going on now, but will they get even better around April or May? I would prefer new rather than used boards. I live in Seattle so there are many different large stores around here that sell them (REI, Gart Sports, etc), but im wondering what u guys think.

Ryan_C

Second Unit
Noah,

I do snowboard, and I might can help you out a little. Now is the really the best time to buy any gear. The longer you wait, the less of a selection there will be. Where are you from? Check out some local board shops right now.

I just moved from NC, but I called up my local shop in NC and the guy there really hooked me up. 50% off everything I bought just about. If you can find a good shop, that would probably be the best thing. Larger stores are ok, but sometimes they tend to have salespeople that aren't that knowledgeable working there, where as the board shops are the opposite. But there are exceptions to that. I have been in more than one board shop that has the stereotypical "uh, umm, yeah dude, that board rocks" type.

How much do you want to drop on your gear? If you aren't looking to spend a small fortune or get the best, you can probably get a decent setup right now, as the high end stuff goes the fastest when the sales start.

Email or PM me if you have any questions, I will gladly try to help you out as much as I can.

ps - if you are looking for a jacket, I have one for sale that was Burton's top of the line that is practically brand new. It's a 3 layer fabric so it's very breathable and super waterproof. I have some pics I can send you if you are interested. Just lemme know...

Noah Gottula

Stunt Coordinator