Best Receiver for the Toshiba HD-A1

Discussion in 'Playback Devices' started by jrauman, Sep 23, 2006.

  1. jrauman

    jrauman Auditioning

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    What is the best receiver to match with the Toshiba HD-A1 to take full advantage of all the latest features, connections etc?

    Thanks!
     
  2. Alon Goldberg

    Alon Goldberg Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Jim - A few questions to get you started:

    1. What speakers do you own?
    2. What are the dimensions of the room?
    3. Will you be using this setup primarily for music or movies?
    4. What model TV do you have?
    5. What is your budget?
     
  3. jrauman

    jrauman Auditioning

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Alan,

    First Thank you! I'm usually shop Best Buy for my gear, so that gives you some sense of the type of shopper I am.

    1. Speakers: Front Left & Right - Klipsch Synergy III 5.25" 2-way; Center: Klipsch Synergy III 5.25" 2-way Center; Surround - Synnergy III 4" 2-way (I have two and want to buy two more to achieve 7.1); Subwoofer - Klipsch 10" 420W Sub

    2. The room is 13.5 x 13.5'. It's probably the worst shapped room for this. I keep the TV diagonal in one of the 4 corners.

    3. Primarly for movies. I would like to listen to my DVD-Audio discs in this environment as well

    4. Samsung HL-P6163W DLP 61". It does have HDMI input.

    5. Receiver buget under $1000, and would prefer under $500 if I really don't need any extras.
     
  4. RobertDW

    RobertDW Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
  5. jrauman

    jrauman Auditioning

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Robert, I've used Technics products in the past for Receivers and have been happy. I had my eye on the XR57 myself. Good price, and you get 7.1. Is it fully compatible with the Toshiba HD-DVD product?
     
  6. Alon Goldberg

    Alon Goldberg Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Jim - my top two picks for home theatre receivers in your price range are the Denon AVR-2807 and Yamaha RX-V1600.

    However, if you're looking for an extremely capable receiver for under $500 that meets your requirements, my first pick would be the Yamaha RX-V659.

    Review: http://www.audioholics.com/productre...aRX-V659p1.php
     
  7. jrauman

    jrauman Auditioning

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Alan. I had been thinking Yamaha as well, so glad to see you recommend a couple options. Not knowing Yamaha as well, how do the two receivers you recommended compare to ones available at Best Buy.

    http://www.bestbuy.com/site/olspage....30&id=cat03031

    They seem to be in the same price range/feature range, but have different model numbers altogether. Any thoughts there?
     
  8. Alon Goldberg

    Alon Goldberg Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Jim - Yamaha offers an HTR-Series for big box retailers, while the RXV-Series are sold at specialized retailers. In fact, the models are 99% identical.

    Yamaha RX-V659 == Yamaha HTR5960
    Yamaha RX-V1600 == Yamaha HTR5990

    The and HTR5960 and HTR-6090 at Best Buy are both excellent receivers.
     
  9. rodney_g

    rodney_g Extra

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0

    Alon,

    I just want to thank you for this piece of info. I had been looking for reviews on audioholics for months on the HTR series, but always find the RX reviews.

    Is the RX-V2600 also badged as a HTR?

    Thanks,
    Rodney
     
  10. MarcoAD

    MarcoAD Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    My Onkyo SR803 has been great paired to my HD-A1. The HDMI switching has worked flawlessly and the sound output fantastic.

    My Setup:
    Hitachi 50SV810 LCD
    Onkyo SR803 Receiver
    Toshiba HD-A1 HD-DVD player
    Infinity Primus 360 Front Towers
    Infinity Primus 160 Rear's
    Infinity Primus C25 Center
    Velodyne DPS12 Subwoofer
    Monster Power HTPS2600 Power station....
     
  11. Scott Calvert

    Scott Calvert Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 1998
    Messages:
    885
    Likes Received:
    3
    Any recomendations for low-cost receivers with 5.1 analog inputs and and a phantom mode for the center channel? I don't really want to mess with HDMI and right now I don't have room for a center channel speaker
     
  12. David Allen

    David Allen Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2002
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've hooked up my HD-A1 via HDMI to a Pioneer VSX-74TXVi receiver, but when I play an HD disc that has Dolby Digital Plus 5.1 only, the receiver spits it out as 2 channel PCM. I realize this is because HDMI 1.1 can't handle the higher bitrate audio, but isn't there a way for Dolby Plus to be played out as a standard DD 5.1 thru HDMI? Do I really have to hook up the coax and/or the analog outs?
     
  13. RobertDW

    RobertDW Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0

    In setup on the player change the output to PCM not bitstream. Also you need to tell the Toshiba to use 5.1 and enable the sub.
     
  14. David Allen

    David Allen Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2002
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0

    I did all of that, and now my receiver reads the audio as "PCM96 + DD EX". However, I still don't hear any audio. Just to make sure- I'm trying to hear 5.1 through HDMI only, not analog or coax.

    EDIT: Oops, user error- now everything works fine.
     
  15. Kevin. W

    Kevin. W Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 1999
    Messages:
    1,534
    Likes Received:
    0

    Did you set the HDMI is Audio setup to AMP or THROUGH? It needs too be in AMP mode.
     

Share This Page