What's new

Best (Onkyo SKS-HT510?) speaker set (1 Viewer)

Matt_Dieckman

Auditioning
Hello all:

Obviously, I am new to these forums, and I would like the thank everyone in advance for any help I receive.

So, here are are my questions:

I bought a Yamaha 5740 receiver, and I was wondering if an Onkyo SKS-HT510 speaker package would be the best choice to go with my receiver?

Is there anything better that I could get for the same price of $200?

-edit- JBL SCS-136SI or Onkyo set or Yamaha NSP-436 ???

And if I bought those speakers would I run into any problems w/ them being different brands? (yes I'm a newb when it comes to anything other than HTiB ;) )

Thanks!

-Matt

Cam McFarland

Supporting Actor
Matt,

Look around & see if you cant get it cheaper than $200.00.
That seems high to me.

Cant tell ya it would be the best choice, although for
$150.00 or so with the sub included, you could do
ALOT worse.

No problem with the different brands.

Matt_Dieckman

Auditioning
Well...I looked around on sites like epinions and pricegrabber, and 200 was the lowest I could find. Is there any other place I should be looking?

Also, I saw the JBL SCS-136SI 6.1 set, and I found them for 230 shipped or so. Should I just spend 30 more dollars and pick those up?

Cam McFarland

Supporting Actor
Its a shame, cause you can get the whole Onkyo
HT-S660 from Fry's for $299.00.

They used to sell just the speakers as well & I would
swear I saw them for ~$149.00.

EDIT: I know nothing about the JBL SCS-136SI, sorry.

Matt_Dieckman

Auditioning
Well...they might sell them at frys for that price, but I don't have a frys anywhere close to me. Only best buy and circuit city. CC has them for 199, so if I get them...I'll buy them there and hope for a sale. But, first I need to decide which is better...the JBL or the Onkyo? :)

Oh...just saw your edit. Thanks. Anyone else?

Matt_Dieckman

Auditioning