What's new

Best deal on printer/scanner/fax? (1 Viewer)

Bob McLaughlin

Screenwriter
Real Name
Bob
I am looking for a new printer with the ability to scan and fax. I know very little about this sort of thing and I don't want to just pick one out at Best Buy based on a Sunday newspaper flyer. I thought I could put the brains of the Home Theater Forum to use. Any recommendations? I am looking at the best I can get in the under $300 range. Thanks!

Shoaib Lateef

Second Unit
based only on research alone, not having actually used them, your top two choices are the HP 6100 and the Canon MP730. i suggest going to your local Best Buy and checking them out, they've both been fairly highly rated.

Tim Markley

Screenwriter
The HP, as with any HP inkjet printer, will cost you much more for ink cartridge replacements. I would go with the Canon. You can get the Canon MP730 for less than $200.

Keith_R

Screenwriter
Real Name
Kyle

I work as an inkjet cartridge remanufacturer (AKA I build inkjets), I've built cartridges from all the major manufactuerers and I can safely say that the HP machine is probably your best bet. Canons are pretty good but HP has a wider array of cartridges and a higher market base than Canon.

A good majority of the cartridges I build in a day are HP cartridges. My experience has been that Cannon cartridges typically are harder to build and usually not as successful in the end process as their HP counterparts. I don't know much about the actual printers but I would go for the HP on the basis of the greater variety of cartridges and the general quality of HP printing products and cartridges.