What's new

Best Budget Reciever for under $500 (1 Viewer)

Hey guys, I'm gettin' hitched and I am looking for a home theater reciever for no more than 500 dollars USD. Looking at the Outlaw 1050, or maybe the new yamaha's coming out. I plan to have this reciever for years to come (or until I can convince my wife to be to upgrade). What would be your best options for me. I will be buying the JBL NSP1 with a velodyne sub (10"). I wouldn't mind a 6.1 but I am a newbie with this stuff as well. I live in Calgary Alberta. Please help me out! I listen to 60 movies and 40 music. Thanks guys!;)

Hmm, hopefully some of the other guys here have some suggestions to fit a US style pricetag.

Taking a quick look at the A&B Sound in the NE, there seems to be quite a lot to offer for the ~$750 CDN / $500 USD range, but it really depends on how "much" you want. I'm apartment bound, so going into the THX certified units isn't really worth it, compared to those who have their own house to insulate the volume levels from!

I grabbed a Kenwood VR-509 for $550 CDN, which is about as much as I wanted at 100w/channel - no 6.1, but PL2 instead...

But if you want to go rather high end, there are some pretty nice looking Denon and Marantz models to be had.

To sum it up, you might want to consider a lower price receiver and beef up in the area of accesories and cables - but if you've got a seperate budget for that as well, then wait for some other comments, I suppose. :)

Richard

Eujin

Supporting Actor
Hmm...I'm sorta in the same boat myself, except that I'm upgrading. So far, the best options for $500 U.S. clams or less, IMHO are:

1. Outlaw 1050

2. Denon 1802

3. Onkyo 595

4. A whole bunch of Yamaha receivers with model numbers I can't keep track of.