Best Box for DIY Tempest Sub?

Discussion in 'Home Theater Projects' started by Kevin Hamilton, Nov 21, 2003.

1. Kevin Hamilton

Hello,
    I am starting to venture into the DIY audio catergory and have decided to build a sub. I am going with the Adire Audio Tempest for the moment but I need some help. Which box would be best for my needs? The room I will be using it in is approx 13x22 and it's 99% for HT use. As this is my first time, I would rather not expirement and would rather go with plans already drawn out. Out of the designs listed as "Tempest Applications" on Adire's website, which would be best? [​IMG] Any help is appreciated.

Thanks,
    Kevin

PS I'd link to the page but I'm not allowed [​IMG]

2. Jeremy Stockwell

Jeremy Stockwell Supporting Actor

For 99% HT, I definitely recommend the Vented EBS alignment. I use a modified EBS alignment for my Tempest (290L; 17.5Hz tune).

What amp are you planning to use?

JKS

3. Kevin Hamilton

I would probably purchase Plate Amp from PartsExpress unless there's any other recommendations in the range of $100-$125ish. Also, with their designs is there no indentation for the sub and it's just screwed into the bottom? Other's I've seen used two sheets and made the inner one's hole a little smaller.

Thanks,
    Kevin

4. KyleGS

KyleGS Second Unit

I REALLY like the sealed Tempests. I haven't found any need for anymore output or extension from my 122L sealed design. I didn't have room for the large vented apps but I am very happy with the sealed. But my room is rather small.
    BTW just how loud do you listen to your movies?

If I had to suggest something for your room size it would probably be the SBB4 vented alignment or a 5-6cf sealed design.

5. Frank Carter

Frank Carter Screenwriter