What's new

Best bookshelf for under 200 dollars? (1 Viewer)

Saurav

Senior HTF Member
I believe Circuit City is selling the Polk RT25i for $99/each. I don't know if this is restricted to a certain region in the country. I have no experience with these speakers, but for $200 they should be worth a listen, in addition to Brett's suggestion above.

Danny Tse

Senior HTF Member
Good Guys has the Polk Audio RT25i at $199.95/pair with no shipping and tax. And they are authorized internet dealer. I believe you can still return them within 30 days if you don't like them. These are one of the biggest audio bargains out there. Definitely give them a try.

Len Cheong

Second Unit
Recently, Stereophile Guide and Sound and Vision published a bookshelf matchoff. Monitor Audio Bronze 1 speakers came out very well rated in both reviews.

MatthewJ S

Supporting Actor
everyone hears differantly/puts differant emphasis on certain parts of the spectrum of sound...Demo as many as you can in an A/B situation...same source,same amp,same room,same demo material,etc.....I know that one dealer is NOT going to have all the possible speakers you would like to hear,but I at least like to do A vs. B ,pick one(B) ,go to a dealer that has B and C and D, compare to C and D , prefer D , go to dealer that has D, E and F , still prefer D ,take home listen ....

Vietor

Stunt Coordinator
For $200 don't forget to look at the Paradigm Titans, definantly worth a listen. As has been said, listen to as much as you can, the wider a range of speakers you listen to, the better.

CalvinC

Stunt Coordinator
PSB Alpha Mini's, I have these in HT setup and thy really rock for the price. I also have the PSB subsonic 5 sub the two together sound really good.

Jeff Aguilar

Stunt Coordinator
Real Name
Jeff