1. The HTF Tapatalk application has been discontinued. Please see the thread in the Forum Help & Feedback area for more information.
    Dismiss Notice

best approach to building a system for the long run

Discussion in 'Playback Devices' started by Rob_E_G, Jan 18, 2005.

1. Rob_E_G

Rob_E_G Auditioning

Hi,
    I'm new to the HT/Music world. I've been looking around this site for a couple days and I have to say it has been pretty helpful in deciding on what components seem to be best for me.

One question I had that I couldn't seem to find an answer for: is it smart to invest alot in a receiver, say the Denon AVR-3805 or even a Rotel 1056, or hold out and wait for better technology coming out soon and spend more on better speakers and upgrade the receiver later.

Basically, I like the Denon AVR-3805 and want to justify spending that kind of money. I also don't want to be beating my head against the wall in a couple years if superior equipment comes out and I'm stuck with an out-dated receiver and sub-par speakers. Any inside info on anything new coming?....

I'm looking to get the Denon 3805 and either slowly build a Swan HT system, or get the whole Fluance 5 SX-HTB HT system, spending $400 or less on speakers initially. I'm looking to buy high quality stuff to last a long time, say at least 10 years. I also want to impress people when they come over.[​IMG]

2. Girish

Girish Stunt Coordinator

girish
    The two things which make most impact on your theater are
    (1) Front Speakers
    (2) Acoustics of the room
    Yes its a wise idea to invest first in good quality speakers because once you have good speakers you can always upgrade the receiver or more likely switch to separates(peramp and amplifier)

3. Philip Hamm

Philip Hamm Lead Actor