Best amp for Malstrom?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by JohnA, Feb 20, 2002.

  1. JohnA

    JohnA Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 1999
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had decided to use the Adire AVA250 for my Maelstrom project becuase of it's features (auto on, phase control and cross over, configuration-plate amp).

    However, I would like a little more power. Any suggestions of other amps to look at?

    Thanks

    -
     
  2. Kyle Richardson

    Kyle Richardson Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 1998
    Messages:
    1,073
    Likes Received:
    0
    What size enclosure are you running? Ported, PR, or sealed?

    If you are using a larger, ported design the AVA250 will be plenty since the Maelstrom is so efficient.

    Kyle Richardson

    Acoustic Visions
     
  3. Kyle Richardson

    Kyle Richardson Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 1998
    Messages:
    1,073
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, the HS500 is a VERY good amplifier especially since it has the parametric EQ built into it. If it is in your price range is is one to look at too.

    Kyle Richardson

    Acoustic Visions
     
  4. JohnA

    JohnA Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 1999
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am looking at a 195 litre sealed enclosure. I really wanted the HS500 but, the price of it combined with the Maelstrom was just getting too high to justify.

    Will I be disappointed with the AVA250 driving the Maelstrom? Or, should I hold off and go with the HS500 when funds permit?

    Thanks

    -
     
  5. DanWiggins

    DanWiggins Second Unit

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 1999
    Messages:
    324
    Likes Received:
    0
    John,

    An AVA250 will get a Maelstrom to linear Xmax down around 20 Hz in that sized box. If you want the extra features of the HS500, but not all the cost, I'd consider the HS200. Same features, and still quite a bit of power for the system.

    Dan Wiggins

    Adire Audio
     
  6. JohnA

    JohnA Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 1999
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    What is the cutout required to mount the HS500? Are they self sealing? Or, do they need an amp enclosure? How do the two pieces of the HS500 mount together or does the power supply module mount internaly, seperate from the amplifier module?

    Thanks
     
  7. JohnA

    JohnA Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 1999
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    ttt
     

Share This Page