Being practical- what should I set my overscan to?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Phil L, Feb 7, 2003.

  1. Phil L

    Phil L Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 1998
    Messages:
    782
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've got a sony 51ws500 which I've done some tweaking on. I've set the overscan to 3% top, bottom, and sides. It was at 5-6%. Should I actually set it to 0%? Is there some reason that I want a small amount of overscan?
     
  2. Bryce Miner

    Bryce Miner Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    0
    You want/need a little bit of overscan due to
    1. some program material not being 0%
    2. Geometry/Convergence errors that can not be fixed

    If you can pull 3% that is great.
     
  3. Michael TLV

    Michael TLV THX Video Instructor/Calibrator

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2000
    Messages:
    2,909
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta
    Real Name:
    Michael Chen
    Greetings

    What Bryce said. [​IMG]

    Some programs and DVD stuff etc ... are actually not centered as well. With 0% ... you will see windowbox bars on some programs and sometimes you will see video garbage on the edges as well.

    2.5 to 3% is usually the limit that I would go to ... when possible.

    Regards
     
  4. Phil L

    Phil L Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 1998
    Messages:
    782
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks,

    I'll leave the overscan at 3%.

    I've got to work on the geometry anyway, the tech who replaced my CRTs (Flicker) did a good job with convergance but left the geometry messed up.
     
  5. Jesse Skeen

    Jesse Skeen Producer

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 1999
    Messages:
    4,325
    Likes Received:
    228
    My Mitsubishi is set for 0%, at least showing as much as it's capable of. I want to see everything; the only problem it causes is I've noticed some DVD players have a black line at the very bottom of the screen, and the top is distorted whenever Macrovision is on (which is why my main player has it disabled!)
     

Share This Page