Behringer Feedback Destroyer - Initial Results

Discussion in 'Speakers' started by Stephen Mac, Jul 31, 2005.

1. Stephen Mac

Stephen Mac Auditioning

Hi All,
    After a bit of reading on room / subwoofer interactions, I picked up a BFD from a local Music shop on friday. Yesterday I spent a couple of hours setting up the BDF with my two subs. You can view the results at stephenmacmillan.com/ht/images/bfd_flat.gif As you can see, I had three large humps, while not a 'house curve' yet (a bit more tweaking is required), the BFD has greatly smoothed out the response of my two subs. While the low end slam is still there, the big difference is the increased clarity in the mids to highs as the humps around 56 and 100Hz were muffling the higher frequencies. I never realised this until I heard the difference. You can take the BDF in or out of circuit with the press of a button, so its easy to compare the sound before and after. I'm a newbie with the BDF, but so far the results are very promising. I'll introduce a 'house curve' by raisng the frequencies (reducing my current cuts) < 40Hz when I get some quite time (i.e. wife and kids aren't around). While the BDF has a bit of a learning curve, the snapbug guide is invaluable. I'd really appreciate if any any of the more experienced BFD users had any suggestions on how I could improve my graph further.

cheers,
    Stephen

2. Victor Ferguson

Victor Ferguson Stunt Coordinator

The room wizard is worth looking into

3. Wayne A. Pflughaupt

Wayne
    Except for the lack of a house curve, it looks good to me. [​IMG]

Regards,
    Wayne A. Pflughaupt

4. Stephen Mac

Stephen Mac Auditioning

Thanks Victor and Wayne, I appreciate the comments. I did at recalibration with my mains last night and as expected I had to increase the sub level +3db so that I was back to running +3db 'hotter' than my mains. Things are really starting to sound good now. Over the weekend I'll play around with a house curve.

Thanks,
    Stephen