Beginner Pool Player Needs Advice

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Brett Hancock, Mar 11, 2003.

1. Brett Hancock

Brett Hancock Supporting Actor

I have been playing pool non stop for the past 2 months and want to purchase my own cue as I am tired of the crappy free for everybody ones. I feel that I am decent for somebody who has only been playing for 2 months. I was wondering what is a good cue for a beginner who isn't looking for the absolute best. I am looking to spend less then 60 bucks and hope to find something in that price range. Also I was wondering what I should buy with a cue in terms of accessories. I have seen tip shapers, replacement cues and I am confused on what each one of these accessories do, so any help in that subject is appreciated. Thanks.

2. Jeff Rosz

Jeff Rosz Second Unit

brett,
    do a google search on "billiards". you'll find tons of cues to fit your budget. go for a middle of the road weight for now 19 or 20, unless you already have a preference. look for a nice thread grip, screw in replacement tips if you can, and get a deal with a free case. for accessories, all you really need for now is a scuffer, only a couple of bucks. i have one on my keychain, never lose it and noone borrows it. it just scuffs up the tip to hold the chaulk to get a good grip on the cueball.

3. Brett Hancock

Thanks, I found this site and the combos that are featured are within my price range but I was wondering a few things about them.

If it doesn't have screw in replacement tips what kind of tips do I order and how much do they run?

Should I look for a better cue or should this be fine for a beginner?

Thanks

P.S. how about these

4. Jeff Rosz

Jeff Rosz Second Unit