What's new

Beginner needs HT advice. (1 Viewer)

peter a

Stunt Coordinator
Hi- my name is peter and i'm a newbie to the whole HT thing. i'm an audiophile of sorts... but, mainly more concerned with car audio. i recognize some of you all from anandtech and fatwallet. so, let me get to the point. i recently purchased a mitsubishi platinum plus 55 inch tv (i believe its the 55819). i also went out and bought a decent progressive scan DVD player- toshiba.... did the whole component cable thing... which still makes me laugh consider how expensive these things are. so, first issue... i have the dvd player connected to the tv and i'm running widescreen movies... the dvd player is configured in widescreen mode... when i start the movies- the intro and menus take up the entire screen (like i think they should). but, when the movie actually starts, it makes it letterbox to the point where i am losing about 2 inches on top and bottom of viewing area. you know, the black bars across the top and bottom. nothing is cropped out, but i thought that the point of the widescreen tv was so that the entire picture would fit in without any of those black bars. so, that's my first concern. anyone have any thoughts or ideas???