What's new

Beginner Home Theater System (1 Viewer)

DanOpi

Grip
Real Name
Danny Opitz
Hey guys! I'm brand new to the forums and have been looking through and reading some of the posts. You all seem like a good bunch of people and seem very helpful!
I recently just purchased a new TV for my small bedroom. The TV was a steal, Samsung 32 In 720P LED for 147 dollars. The only downside is that it has no audio outputs so I can't use external speakers through the TV. However I was thinking that I would be able to run them through my Xbox with the Red and White audio outputs. This would allow me to use the external speakers whenever using my Xbox which is all i really was hoping for.
I've been looking around with Black Friday deals and have found a possibility. I'm still a student and so my budget is limited and seeing as this system will be in a small bed room and then soon moved to a college dorm I don't need a high quality or huge system.
Samsung - 500W 5.1-Ch. Blu-ray Home Theater System from Best Buy. It's on sale for $177.99.
http://www.bestbuy.com/site/Samsung+-+500W+5.1-Ch.+Blu-ray+Home+Theater+System/4755837.p?id=1218523224356&skuId=4755837&st=Thanksgiving_Day_Sale_2012_Home_Theater_70411&cp=1&lp=15
I'm just curious if I would be able to configure this to hook up with my Xbox and if this is at least some quality and will get the job done for me?
Any and all help would be greatly appreciated!
Thanks in advance!
~DanOpi

schan1269

HTF Expert
HW Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Sam
Well, pretty mich anything is better than the built in speakers.
For $178 bucks, if you get a year out of it you are ahead. That is the "problem" with all-in-one HTiB. You can't do anything with it once something breaks...
Unless you can raise your budget to $300...not much you can do beyond all-in-one...
A4L has the Onkyo RC160(I think that is the model number) for $110. There are speaker "sets" by Yamaha, Harman Kardon etc. that you can pick up for $200.