Been wondering about this.......

Discussion in 'Beginners, General Questions' started by Ed Moxley, Jun 8, 2003.

1. Ed Moxley

Ed Moxley Cinematographer

Ed
    I have a JVC RX8020VBX receiver. In order for me to add rear surround speaker(s), I need an amplifier between the speaker(s) and the receiver (to drive the speaker(s)). I have seen a powered center channel speaker at the pawn shop. Will it work as a REAR center speaker, or will I need an amplifier with a processor, to process the extra channel?
    Thx.

Just so you know my system is:
    JVC 36" tv
    JVC RX8020VBX receiver
    Panasonic DVD-A120U
    Hughes Dolby Digital satellite receiver
    Allison AL115 front speakers
    Pioneer ctr. and surr. speakers
    JBL PSW 1200 Subwoofer
    RCA VCR
    JVC CD, dual cassette

[​IMG]

2. JayDaniel

JayDaniel Stunt Coordinator

I have no experience with powered speakers, other than a sub-woofer. However, I don't think it will work, unless the powered speaker has an RCA input jack on it (similar to subwoofers). I looked at the owner's manual for your model on-line at JVC, and it specifically showed the need for a power amp. On Page 7, it states "To fully enjoy Dolby Digital EX and DTS-ES Extended Surround, you need to connect the surround back speakers through a power amplifier connected to the PRE-OUT SURR BACK jacks on the rear panel, using a cable with RCA pin plugs."

There is no Surround Back speaker level connection, only a PRE-OUT connection.

If the speaker only has connections for speaker wire, then I don't see how it would work. If it has an RCA input, then it just might.

Good luck.

3. Ed Moxley

Ed Moxley Cinematographer

Ed
    I guess I'll have to go see what kind of outputs it has. I kinda know the guy at the store. Maybe he'll let me try it first........

I had read all that in my manual. Kinda upset me with JVC.