1. Sign-up to become a member, and most of the ads you see will disappear. It only takes 30 seconds to sign up, so join the discussion today!
    Dismiss Notice

Battery backup

Discussion in 'Playback Devices' started by Jeremy K, Nov 9, 2004.

  1. Jeremy K

    Jeremy K Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2002
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I read somewhere about using a bettery backup with a TiVo to prevent problems with the HD. I have a DVD recorder with a HD, and wondered if this is something that other people use to protect there equipement. I have one on my computer, so why not the DVD recorder? Is having a battery backup a good idea in case of power outages?
     
  2. Robert_J

    Robert_J Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2000
    Messages:
    8,318
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Real Name:
    Robert
    I'm not sure about your DVD recorder but the drive in Tivos spin 24x7. If there is a glitch in the power, you are just asking for trouble. I back up mine with a cheap Energizer UPS I picked up for under $20 at Circuit City. It gives my DirecTivo 45 minutes of running time so it miss my favorite shows (the real reason I have a UPS).

    -Robert
     
  3. Jeremy K

    Jeremy K Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2002
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I asked this in another post, but didn't get a reply. Do you have one of the clean power units? I have the Monster Power HTS1000 mk2. I am thinking I will put the battery backup I have now on the DVD recorder, because I want a bigger on for my PC anyway. It is only 350 VA(or whatever they are rated by), what would be the best way to hook this up. I don't want to wreck anything or make anything perform worse. Since my battery backup is so small, I am assuming I don't want to have everything run through it? Can I plug the UPS into the Monster unit, then plug just the DVD recorder into the UPS? Or should I plugthe UPS into the wall, then plug the Monster unit into the UPS, then plug everything into the Monster unit. It seems like to much to run throught the UPS, it would be a 36" Standard TV, DVD recorder, DVD/VCR, Receiver, Sat, VCR, and a Powered Sub.
     
  4. Chris_Morris

    Chris_Morris Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2002
    Messages:
    1,887
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    At 350VA, I'd assume it's around 300 watts. The TV will take ~100-150 watts, the DVD recorder ~50, DVD/VCR ~50 if it is playing, receiver ~250-300, Sat ~50, VCR ~30-50, and powered sub ~100-300? The more watts you pull when the power is out, the shorter the battery lasts, and if you try to pull too much, the UPS is not going to work at all. If you are mainly interested in protecting the DVR and not missing shows, then the sat. and DVR are the only things that should be pulling power off the battery.

    In no way would I plug a surge protector into a UPS, or a UPS into a surge protector. You are asking for major trouble if you do. Each should be plugged directly into the wall.

    If it were me, everything but the sat and DVR would go to the surge protector, with the UPS and surge protector plugged into different outlets if possible.


    Chris
     
  5. Jeremy K

    Jeremy K Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2002
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If it were me, everything but the sat and DVR would go to the surge protector, with the UPS and surge protector plugged into different outlets if possible.



    Don't I have to have everything plugged into the surge protector to protect anything? They state that if everything that is in any way connected together has to run through the unit. Otherwise I don't think the warranty even applies.



    Thanks for the help.
     

Share This Page