Batman (1989) LD vs. DVD

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Tom-G, Dec 2, 2001.

1. Tom-G

Tom-G Screenwriter

Tom G
    I'm contemplating purchasing the 1989 version of Batman but I'm curious about one thing - the sound. How does the sound on the LD compare the 5.1 sound on the DVD?

The track on the DVD is very weak. I'm hoping that the LD offers better sound.

2. Dave H

Dave H Producer

All I know is that I hope a special edition is released in 2002 of this film because it needs and deserves it.

3. David Lambert

David Lambert Executive Producer

Tom_G, I've been collecting DVD's for over 2 years now. I'm closing in on 1000 discs.
    I [rant]love[/rant] the Batman movie you're talking about. Absolutely [rant]love[/rant] it!
    I've seen the DVD as cheap as $7.99 and STILL skip buying it. I don't own it on DVD at all.
    Why not? After getting into the format, I was told quickly by lots and lots of folks that the DVD is sooooo bad it is a disservice to the film! Terrible video, not-great audio, and just all-around an early effort made back when DVD was new and they didn't have their authoring shit together.
    I decided pretty quick to wait for a new version, an SE. It looks like my patience may be rewarded in 2002.
    In the meantime, as you can see, I have plenty of other fine discs to keep me busy! How do I stand to not have this film, cheap though it may be? Mentally, I just tell myself "it's not released yet...it's not released yet". I can pretend pretty good... [​IMG]

4. Heinz W

Heinz W Second Unit

I wouldn't say the video is 'terrible' on the current version, in fact I think it is rather good for an early DVD release. But the audio is rather anemic, and pales next to a contemporary reference disc like TPM.

A SE is definitely in order for this film!