Bass gurus - Killer sealed box/plate amp sub design for my practically outdoor HT...?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Sanaka, Feb 26, 2002.

1. Sanaka

Sanaka Extra

The "ultimate sub design" thread going on with Mr. Wiggins of Adire is awesome, but a little too awe$ome for where I'm at[​IMG] . So the 'ultimate' killer subwoofer for me considers the following:
    Something in the range of a Parts Express or Adire plate amp - around 250watts - with a 12" or 15" driver - Shiva, Tempest, P.E. DVC - misc. hardware and some MDF is what I'd basically be budgeted at, especially since I may need a pair of subs (more later...)
    While I'm not running a real "audiophile" HT (yet), I HATE sloppy bass, and this system does a lot of music duty. This and the fact I've never built a sub before lead me to simpler sealed box design - I don't have my head around all the T/S correlations and less forgiving/complex/ported alignments.
    However, I'm a professional cabinetmaker. So ultra-trick boxes are not a problem. T-line design is thus very tantalizing, but nothing I've found in that realm seems nailed down or "tried and true" to the point I could plunk my cash down on it. If you know of something that is, I'm all ears [​IMG]
    My huge HT "room" could more aptly be called a pavillion - I'm in Hawaii and it's all open louvered walls and vaulted ceilings, totally open floor plan. Main listening area is 32' WIDE left to right, and about 19' DEEP screen to LazyBoy. This though is in the middle of a total connected space approx. 32'x44'.... practically outdoors, Zero room gain. So might a pair of subs be almost necessary?
    A pretty much humongous box (pair of boxes) is OK. I've got room [​IMG]
    I don't usually listen at 'reference' (just dang loud!)levels. I appreciate clarity at mellow volume over visceral gut blasting. So I don't need 116db at 16Hz. Something like around 100db, tight and pretty flat to about 25Hz would be fantastic.