basic home theater questions

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Ajoy, Aug 22, 2001.

1. Ajoy

Ajoy Auditioning

I am new to the world of serious home theater, all along I have had a harmon kardon reciever, bose am5 speakers infinity center and surround. Now I am starting to build out my basement where I plan to have a serious home theater system. I have been reading a number of links this page has to offer, I had these questions :-
    *) projectors vs plasma TV - I suppose I cannot afford a very big plasma TV but is projectors the way to go and is the resolution acceptable - wxga 1366 x 768 ? ( I have had no chance to see a demo .. any recommendations on where to see demo in the washington DC area )
    * ) any special things to be done to the roof and walls for home theater ( for a do-it-yourselfer )
    *) sound system - is seperates the way to go or would a bose home theater system with those jewel cubes do any justice to good sound ?
    *) I understand that most of this has to do with the budget you have, is there any reference/articles to buying a good home theater system under $10k or under $15k
    I am sort of in an intermediate level and there is so much information out there, the difficulty has been to filter it and take a decision. Is there any pointer in this regard.
    thx in advance
    ajoy

2. Lee J. Buividas

Ajoy I am building my own home out in Ashburn VA in the Regency and building a home theater also. So hi neighbor!!! ha ha ha I have been hanging around this excellent Home Theater Forum for several years and have met the way cool Ron Epstein at the really fun and informative Scooter Movie Party last year. If you can go to Scooters movie party this weekend in NJ go and you will learn a lot. Scooter is the Master of building a wonderful home theater or should I say many home theaters on a reasonable budget. An experience you will never forget. Unfortunately I can't attend this weekend.