Basic cable > receiver > television: possible?

Discussion in 'Beginners, General Questions' started by Adam Bluhm, Jan 20, 2006.

1. Adam Bluhm

Adam Bluhm Supporting Actor

My parents want to get a new tv and my mother wants me to get her a new audio system. To summarize, I'm planning on getting a basic Onkyo receiver and a set of JBL speakers (the all-in-one 5.1 setup). The speakers will be small (cosmetically for my mother), so the Onkyo should do the job fine.

I don't want to steer my mother wrong.

Basically what's happening is my parents have basic cable setup. We were leaning toward a Panasonic 42" Plasma EDTV (that could change). I want to know if I can route the cable into the receiver, then the receiver video to the tv and view all the channels like normal, while getting full audio through the receiver/speaker setup.

I've never done this before and I got thinking about it tonight. If I route the cable to the receiver and composite video from the receiver to the tv, can I still view the channels on the tv like normal or would I need some sort of an external box? I guess I'm wondering if I'm still able to just turn on the tv, turn on the receiver and channel surf. I don't feel like that's possible, due to me needing to be on one of the video settings.

I guess the other option is to utilize some sort of audio-out from the tv (cable to tv, tv audio-out to receiver).

The only other component mixed in here is a new Panasonic DVD recorder/player that I got for them for Christmas. I'd just run optical audio and component cables to the receiver.

If I'm not clear enough let me know. I don't feel like I'm explaining this well. Thanks for any help!

Whoops. Almost forgot. I've never done any research on cable cards. If we did get this Panny EDTV, do we need a cable card? I see there's a spot for one. Like I said earlier, they'll be watching cable (nothing digital or whatnot).

2. Brian Osborne

Brian Osborne Stunt Coordinator