Basic 96/24 digital audio question

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by John Di Lauro, Aug 6, 2001.

1. John Di Lauro

John Di Lauro Stunt Coordinator

In looking at the specs on various DVD players, I noticed
    that some will pass a 96KHz/24bit stream through the digital
    outputs, some will downsample to 48KHz if the disc is "protected",
    and some will not pass any 96/24 digital signal. Is this a result of some anti-copying protection scheme?
    My understanding of Dolby 5.1 and DTS audio tracks is that both are created using a 48Khz sampling rate.
    Does anyone know of any DVDs that contain a 96/24 audio stream?
    I'm wondering how big of deal this lack of capability really is.
    I'm not sure but it seems to me that most of lower/mid-priced receivers are not capable of accepting a 96/24 stream anyway.
    Thanks for the help. I'm new to all this and so far have learned quite a bit from this forum.

2. Craig F

Craig F Second Unit

Craig
    All DVD Players will downconvert if a flag on the disk is set not to allow high resolution output. There is not a lot of material on DVD-Video that has 96k/24. Two companies, Chesky and Classic Records, have put out some stereo 96k/24 audio only DVD-V disks. Most are waiting for DVD-Audio or SACD to take off, neither of which can ouput a digital signal at this point.

3. John Di Lauro

John Di Lauro Stunt Coordinator

Craig,
    Thanks for the information. This leads me to another
    question. If no current digital sources can output greater
    than 48KHz (and I presume this is due in part to paranoid
    record companies), why do some receivers contain 192KHz DACs? Seems to me this is ridiculous overkill if you can only feed a 48KHz signal to it.

4. Robert A. Willis Jr.

Robert A. Willis Jr. Second Unit