Band Of Brothers??? HD?? (1 Viewer)

Steven Simon

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Steven Simon
Sorry Guys,
Just installed the HD last night....
I'm very new to this... :)
Channel 509 is HD HBO, but from what I understand, not everything is aired in HD....
Is there a website that lists what will be aired in HD??
------------------
Thanks,
Steven R. Simon
HTF Administrator
Theater Pics Updated 7-26-2001
Send Email: [email protected]

Oswald Pascual

Second Unit
Real Name
No Name
Simon why in the world would they cut it to 1.85??? That makes no sense at all. If HBO is going to butcher a 2.35 movie why not cut it to 1.78?
------------------
My Home Theater
sign.jpg

My DVD Collection Home Theater Pics
Ozzie

M

MaxY

Actually it was croppeed to 16x9. :)
HBO seems to show no reason or rhyme with what they crop and what they don't.
Generally if it is a new 2:35 movie it will get cropped but many older 2:35 mocies actually air at 2:35.
Don't know what the deal is.
X-men looked F'good other then the cropping.
Steve,
To bad Direct TV does not Offer Showtime as they always show their HD movies OAR.
Max
------------------
Maxsig.gif

Browse My Collection of DVDs at DVD profiler
Equipment Lists for My HTs
Petition To Bring Motel Hell To DVD Check In Here
Time to resume Buying Warner Product!!

Frank

Stunt Coordinator
Back in March of 2000, Bob Zitter of HBO announced that they would be ending their policy of showing films in the correct aspect ratio and going with pan and scan.
The reason given was that was what their own employees preferred. They have not done any OAR transfers since then.
When you see a movie in OAR on HBO-HD you can be sure the transfer was done before the new p&S policy went into effect.
X-MEN was a pan and scan transfer of a 2.39:1 Panavision film and I thought it looked very poor. The movie on before it called 'Lucas' had a much better image.
Frank

SteveRS

Stunt Coordinator
The LFE finally kicked in when the air invasion began.