Backcountry Skiing (Alpine touring vrs Telemark skis)

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Jay H, Feb 12, 2003.

1. Jay H

Jay H Producer

Jay
    An almost complete newbie to skiing, was interested in backcountry skiing. Don't have much an interest in downhill skiing, what is the difference between Alpine Touring skis and Telemark skis?

Black Diamond Alpine Touring skis

These are 183cm in size, seem to be relatively inexpensive, I have trekking poles I might be able to extend far enough to use as ski poles, I would just need boots and bindings.

Is there a difference between these AT skis and Telemark skis? What's a good size given that I'm about 130lbs and 5'4", typically would be used in NY/NJ where we can get all different kinds of snow, light to wet and heavy.

Jay

2. Dave Poehlman

Dave Poehlman Producer

Don't quote me, but I believe the telemarks are more narrow than the alpines.

It's been a while since I pulled my skis out. But the rules of thumb for size is if you stand with your arm straight up. The tip of the ski should reach your wrist from the floor.

As for poles, they should reach your armpits from the floor.

Or, at least these were the rules when I was skiing

As for the type of snow... if these are waxless skis, they should work in all types. If these skis need to be waxed (which is a PITA if you're just a casual skier), there are different types of wax for different types of snow.

Again, I haven't done it in about 10 years, so the technology may have changed.

3. Greg_R

Greg_R Screenwriter

Greg
    Telemark skis have fatter tips/tails and are shorter (i.e. meant for going/turning down steep hills). They do not glide very well. Alpine touring skis allow you to get more glide on flat land but still retain some shape to help with turning. Trekking skis are wide and long (good for towing gear & sleds, supports more weight & floats better on powder). They do not turn easily at all...

4. Jay H

Jay H Producer

Jay