AVR 320 and ext. amp ?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Eric Wood, Feb 25, 2002.

  1. Eric Wood

    Eric Wood Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2001
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Could I use an external amp to power the front three speakers and still use the 5 internal amps to power the rest of the 7.1 configuration? I should arguably have an extra amp just withering away.

    Thanks,

    Eric
     
  2. Eujin

    Eujin Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    549
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nope. You can only use the external amp to power the back surrounds (extra 2 of the 7.1). If you use an external amp to power the front speakers, you'll still need another amp to do the extra speakers for full 7.1. But I have to ask why you'd want to do full 7.1 because the 320 doesn't do THX EX. The 7.1 processing only applies to Logic7, as far as I'm aware.
     
  3. JohnnyG

    JohnnyG Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2000
    Messages:
    1,522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Eric, you could with the 520 as it has pre-out/main-in loops. Just decouple and re-connect as you want.
     

Share This Page