AVM-20 Owners, PLEASE HELP A FELLOW OWNER!!

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Adam_Reiter, Feb 7, 2003.

  1. Adam_Reiter

    Adam_Reiter Second Unit

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2001
    Messages:
    461
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok guys, you are going to think I am stupid, but here it goes. I just got my Aragon 2007 and my AVM-20. I hooked everything up. I have two problems. First, when I hook up my DVD player, I get only video. I have tried the left right audio out from the DVD to the analog dvd in on the Anthem. No sound. I tried the digital out on the DVD player to the digital in on Anthem. No sound. I plug the dvd player into the CD or Tape audio and video in.... SOUND!! I can only do Pro Logic on CD or Tape. I used the coax digital when trying the digital out. Is that a special cable? I used a standard interconnect. Do I need an optical? It should work on both. arggggggg.

    For the record, when you want Dolby Digital or EX, 7.1, etc etc, do you use just the digital out on the DVD player? Or do you use the left right audio out? I assume left/right those are just for playing cd's, right?

    What am I doing wrong? I dont have a sub yet. Do I HAVE to have a sub first? Does it want to see a sub signal before it does the Dolby Digital? I am not understanding. What am I missing? My Current DVD player is the Pioneer DV-444.

    Also, I CANNOT hook up my digital cable to the Anthem. I get a HORRIBLY LOUD hum and/or ground loop. I tried different interconnects and even moved the unit up with the tv. (out of the stack) As soon as ANY interconnect, wether video or audio, hit the digital cable box.. HUMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM! Can I get some sort of filter? I mean, this is my tv signal, I cant NOT have it hooked up.

    I am sorry for the simple questions, but I am a novice at this high end stuff. PLEASE HELP ME!!!
     
  2. Michael Mohrmann

    Michael Mohrmann Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2001
    Messages:
    1,394
    Likes Received:
    0
    Adam,

    Oh dear! Too many issues, I am not sure where to start. First off, I believe you purchase an AVM-20 v1, correct? If so, then you do not have DPL II, DTS-ES, DD-EX, and THX ultra2.

     
  3. Michael Mohrmann

    Michael Mohrmann Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2001
    Messages:
    1,394
    Likes Received:
    0
    Adam,

     
  4. Adam_Reiter

    Adam_Reiter Second Unit

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2001
    Messages:
    461
    Likes Received:
    0
     
  5. Michael Mohrmann

    Michael Mohrmann Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2001
    Messages:
    1,394
    Likes Received:
    0
    Adam,

     
  6. Michael Mohrmann

    Michael Mohrmann Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2001
    Messages:
    1,394
    Likes Received:
    0
    Adam,

    What version of software is installed with your AVM-20? It should tell you when you power up the AVM-20, or you can access the status menus via the status button on the front panel for the information (press the status button to toggle through the status menus).

    Michael
     
  7. Adam_Reiter

    Adam_Reiter Second Unit

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2001
    Messages:
    461
    Likes Received:
    0
    Michael. Thanx for your help by the way. Right now its the v1.0

    Next week I will be taking in to get upgraded to v2.0
     
  8. Michael Mohrmann

    Michael Mohrmann Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2001
    Messages:
    1,394
    Likes Received:
    0
    Adam,

     
  9. Michael Mohrmann

    Michael Mohrmann Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2001
    Messages:
    1,394
    Likes Received:
    0

Share This Page