AVM-20 and mixing RCA, XLR pre-outs?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Paul Gere, Mar 15, 2003.

  1. Paul Gere

    Paul Gere Second Unit

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 1999
    Messages:
    282
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi!
    I have an AVM-20, which has both RCA and XLR pre-outs. In my 7.1 setup, I have a 5 ch. amp that is RCA inputs only and a 2 ch. (mains) amp that has both RCA and XLR inputs.

    Would there be any beneift to running main L and R channels XLR and all others RCA or should I keep it consistent with RCA outs for all 7 connections?

    Thanks,
    -Paul
     
  2. Evan S

    Evan S Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2001
    Messages:
    2,210
    Likes Received:
    0
    Paul, I think you will be fine. I am going to do the same thing...run balanced on my main L/R when my Odyssey Stratos comes in, but power the surrounds with a small Rotel RB-1050 which has no balanced inputs.

    The only thing you may need to be cognizant of is balancing the levels for each speaker for some say you get a slight db gain when you run XLR, but you are an old pro...I don't need to tell you about calibration! [​IMG]

    I think you will be fine...no worries.
     
  3. Chas_T

    Chas_T Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2002
    Messages:
    758
    Likes Received:
    0
    Paul,

    I've used both combinations and the only benefit I can see are the normal advantages of either style of cables. XLR's for long runs, no inteference and ease of connection. RCA's for flexibility usage in the future with other components.

    Now I am running all XLR's, but the only reason I did that was because I went to a silver wire, plus I like the ease of connection. The interference may not come into play as the runs are 1 meter, but I figured if there is interference, all XLR's might help.
     
  4. Prathavan V

    Prathavan V Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2002
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    This brings up an interesting thought. Since I'm sure that both the 7 channel (RCA and XLR) outputs are always active in zone 1, even though zone 2 and 3 are L:R (stereo) only, can you run the RCA's for one HT and the XLR's for another HT? Effectively making two zone 1's. You could maybe even configure the 12V triggers to turn on the RCA amps for the one HT separate from the XLR amps for the other HT.

    My upstairs TV has only a pair of speaker in the same room and that's just fine, but I've got a few extra speakers that could probably work well in a limited role 2nd HT scenario. I recognize that you'd really only use one of the two Zone 1's at a time or any volume changes to one room would affect the other room. I know that there would also be speaker distance setting problems and such, (maybe an outboard digital delay box could solve that) but I think it'd still be kinda cool to be able to have TWO 5 or 7.1 setups with just the one AVM20!!

    Even if this worked, I don't think I'd bother, but if it does work, it might give Anthem owners an even more flexible and useful pre/pro.
     
  5. Michael Mohrmann

    Michael Mohrmann Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2001
    Messages:
    1,394
    Likes Received:
    0
    Pro,

     
  6. Paul Gere

    Paul Gere Second Unit

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 1999
    Messages:
    282
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks, Guys!
    As I had hoped, I've heard from some of the finest AVM-20 "usual suspects".

    Sounds like I'd be OK to run XLR with a couple of small benefits for doing so.

    Thanks,
    -Paul
     

Share This Page